Outremont Electoral Profile

The borough of Outremont electoral profile, as well as all the other Election Montreal electoral profiles are divided into a specific number of districts based on the electoral geography of the borough.

Each of our 19 boroughs and each of their respective socio-economic characteristics and electoral districts are divided in such a way that each district has a similar number of electoral total members.

Outremont Electoral Map

Outremont four (4) electoral districts

  1. Claude-Ryan
  2. Joseph-Beaubien
  3. Robert-Bourassa
  4. Jeanne-Sauvé and a total of 15,725 electors in 2017

On our next municipal election day, local residents will vote for

  • The mayor of the City of Montreal

and for the five (5) members of the Borough Council

  • the mayor and city Councillor of the borough
  • one (1) borough Councillor for each of the four (4) electoral districts

Outremont Electoral Profile & Montreal Principles and Values 

Montreal City, Island and Agglomeration

As a City, Montreal comprises a territory divided in 19 boroughs. As an Island, Montreal comprises the City of Montreal and 15 other suburban municipalities and, as a City and an Island, Montreal is called the Agglomeration of Montreal. 

Quebec Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms

A quasi-constitutional law, the Quebec Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms aims at protecting the rights and freedoms of all persons living in the Province of Quebec and at promoting equality among individuals.

Montreal Charter of Rights and Responsibilities

Effective in 2006, revised in 2011, the Montreal Charter of Rights and Responsibilities promotes openness, respect, solidarity and transparency. A Charter that represents and promotes the core values of Montreal democratic life and that is often cited universally as an example of social inclusion. 

Montreal Ombudsman

The Ombudsman of Montreal is a neutral person, independent from the municipal administration and the elected officials. The Ombudsman is entrusted with the application of the Montréal Charter of Rights and Responsibilities.

Any person living in the City of Montreal, regardless of his or her status, may file a complaint if he or she believes his or her rights under the Montreal Charter of Rights and Responsibilities have been violated.

The Ombudsman offers a last resort for citizens who have previously tried to resolve a problem by contacting the proper borough or department.

Primacy of the French Language

According to the Office québécois de la langue française, French is the official language of communication between the City of Montreal and its citizens. French is the symbol of our Montreal society and the chief vehicle of communication for all its citizens.

Montreal ISLAND Kit

Outremont Electoral Profile by Rachel Louise Barry


To be reviewed, analysed, evaluated and made available online. RLB