Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace Electoral Profile

The borough of Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace electoral profile, along with all the other Election Montreal electoral profiles are divided into a specific number of districts based on the electoral geography of the borough.

Each of our 19 boroughs and each of their respective socio-economic characteristics and electoral districts are divided in such a way that each district shows a similar number of electoral total members.

Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace Electoral Map

Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace five (5) electoral districts

  1. Darlington
  2. Côte-des-Neiges
  3. Snowdon
  4. Notre-Dame-de-Grâce
  5. Loyola

On our next municipal election day, local residents will vote for

  • the mayor of the City of Montreal

and for the six (6) members of the Borough Council

  • the mayor and city Councillor of the borough
  • one (1) city Councillor for each of the five (5) electoral districts

Borough Council Style

A Borough Council who meets on the first Monday of every month, except in January, July and August and who meets twice in the month of June.

A Borough Council who makes decisions and who adopts by-law regarding urban planning, road networks, permits, culture and recreation. Archived meeting agendas, minutes and official records of Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace electoral profile are available online (in French).

Borough Council Style & Responsibilities

Road Networks

Road networks in CDN-NDG and in all the other boroughs and cities can be tricky. For example, Spring brings a lot of thaw-freeze / thaw-freeze with water that needs to go somewhere. If the sewers are blocked, the water stays on the roads and freezes. Repairs and reconstructions are required every year.

Urban Planning

The Urban Planning Advisory Committee of Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace is composed of borough residents and borough officials.

Some of the borough residents are trained and some have expertise in urban planning, urban development or architecture, while others have a specific and pertaining knowledge of the borough. 

Seven (7) borough officials including the Chair and the replacement members are also part of the Urban Planning Advisory Committee. Officials that each carry various responsibilities and a Committe that usually meets once a month.

Culture and Recreation

Each of the 19 boroughs of the City of Montreal offer many different activities in collaboration with their respective partners. Many different organizations, hundreds of them who offer a long list of culture and recreation activities such as watercolour, painting, photography, music, dance... all year round.

Permits and Authorizations

In CDN-NDG and probably in all the other boroughs and cities, permits and authorizations are divided into Private Domain,  Public Domain, Sewer and/or Aqueduct Works and Work not Requiring a Permit. 

The Private Domain is divided into balconies, porches and stairs, decks, doors and windows, exterior fencing, outbuildings, tool and garden sheds, stoves and fireplaces, swimming pools, temporary car shelters and trees.

The Public Domain is divided into occupancy permit and other work permits, the section called Sewer and/or Aqueduct Works is divided into private and public domains and a list of Work not Requiring a Permit is available. 

Montreal ISLAND Kit
Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace Electoral Profile
by Rachel Louise Barry


To be reviewed, analysed, evaluated and made available online. RLB