City of Montreal Electoral Democracy

 A summary of a City of Montreal electoral democracy and a description of some of the electoral characteristics of an Island of Montreal divided into 58 electoral districts. 

 According to the Directeur général des élections du Québec "The act respecting elections and referendums in municipalities (AERM) stipulates that municipal general elections shall beheld in all municipalities of Québec on the first Sunday of November, every four years."

550x300La Presse - Montreal City Hall and Flag

 A City of Montreal Council composed of:

  • the city mayor, who is also the mayor of the Ville-Marie borough,
  • 18 borough mayors, who are also city Councillors,
  • 46 city Councillors.

 The mayor of Montreal is elected democratically by the residents of the 19 boroughs of the City of Montreal. Borough mayors and city Councillors are elected by the residents of each of the 19 boroughs and sit on the Montreal city council and on their respective borough council

Montreal Electoral Democracy

City Council 

 According to the Charter of Ville de Montréal, the responsibilities of the City Council include:

  • Arterial system
  • Community development
  • Cultural development
  • Culture, recreation and parks
  • Economic development
  • Economic promotion
  • Environmental development
  • Land use planning and development
  • Municipal court
  • Police services
  • Recovery and recycling of residual materials
  • Road service and vehicle towing
  • Social development
  • Social housing
  • Transportation development
  • Water purification
84x108Fleur de Lys
84x108White Pine

 A white pine for the initial native presence, surrounded by the fleur-de-lys of the Royal House of Bourbon for the French, the rose of the House of Lancaster for the English, the thistle of the Scottish and the clover of the Irish.

 The Montreal city council also supervises and approves the decisions made by each borough council and the executive committee (11 members and the mayor of Montreal) has jurisdiction over the local services offered within the Montreal electoral geography and city limits.

 An executive committee who also has jurisdiction over the entire electoral districts or profiles of the Island of Montreal.

Borough Councils

 Also according to the Charter of Ville de Montréal, the 19 borough councils have local jurisdiction and power over the following specific matters: 

  • Culture
  • Financial Management
  • Fire Prevention
  • Housing
  • Human Resources
  • Non-Taxation Fees
  • Parks
  • Recreation
  • Roads
  • Social and Community Development
  • Urban Planning
  • Waste Collection
550x365Journal Métro - Montreal City Hall and Flag

 Borough councils are composed of at least five (5) Councillors. City councillors sit on the city council and on their borough council, while borough councillors sit on their borough council only. A total of 46 city councillors, 38 borough councillors and 58 Montreal electoral democracy districts.

Montreal Electoral Democracy

Agglomeration Council

 The agglomeration council is headed by the mayor of Montreal, accompanied by 30 elected officials who represent the City of Montreal, its 19 boroughs and the 14 reconstituted cities of the Island of Montreal, the Dorval Island and the City of Dorval counting as one.

  • The mayor of the city of Montreal
  • 15 Montreal city Councillors
  • 14 mayors of the reconstituted cities (1 for the City of Dorval and for the Town of Dorval Island)
  • 1 additional representative for borough of Dollard-des-Ormeaux (because of the size of its population)
550x728Hôtel de Ville de Montréal

 The Act respecting the exercise of certain municipal powers in certain urban agglomeration stipulates the jurisdiction of the Agglomeration Council over the Montreal Agglomeration.

  • Economic promotion, including tourism, outside the territory of a related municipality.
  • Help for the homeless.
  • Management of streets and major thoroughfares.
  • Municipal court.
  • Nature parks.
  • Property assessment.
  • Public safety services – including police, fire fighters and 9-1-1 Public transit
  • Social housing.
  • Waste management, including disposal of waste materials and management of hazardous waste.
  • Water supply and sewage treatment, except for local networks.

 The taxpayers of the Island of Montreal composed of 19 boroughs and 15 reconstituted cities, regardless of their borough or city of residence, pay a common tax for the shared services administered by the agglomeration council according to each and every electoral districts or profiles of the Island of Montreal.

Montreal Kits
City of Montreal Electoral Democracy

Disclaimer    Keep in Touch!    Montreal Tourism

Montreal Kits Home Page

Privacy Policy    Rachel Louise Barry    Sitemap

Solo Build It!    What's New?

Top of the Page

Montreal Kits © All Rights Reserved 2018-2024

The information provided by Montreal Kits is informational only and has no legal value.

Solo Build It!